This work was supported by funding from the EPFL to the Laboratory of Neural Microcircuitry (LNMC), funding from the ETH Domain for the Blue Brain Project (BBP) and by funding to the Human Brain Project from the European Union Seventh Framework Program (FP7/2007-2013) under grant agreement no. 604102 (HBP).

Additional funding came from The Gatsby Charitable Foundation, The Cajal Blue Brain project, Ministerio de Economia y Competitividad Spanish Ministry of Education and Science, and an EPFL-Hebrew University Collaborative Grant.

In the years 2005-2009, the Blue Gene/L system was funded by the EPFL. Financial support for the subsequent CADMOS Blue Gene/P and Blue Gene/Q systems was provided by the Canton of Geneva, Canton of Vaud, Hans Wilsdorf Foundation, Louis-Jeantet Foundation, University of Geneva, University of Lausanne and École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne.

The BlueBrain IV BlueGene/Q system is financed by ETH Board Funding to the Blue Brain Project as a National Research Infrastructure and hosted at the Swiss National Supercomputing Center (CSCS).

We thank Oren Amsalem, and Guy Eyal from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Lea Goetz, and Dr. Arnd Roth from University College London, Dr. Michele Giugliano from the University of Antwerp, and Drs. Costas Anastassiou, Anton Arkhipov, Stefan Mihalas, Susan Sunkin, and Prof. Christof Koch from the Allen Institute for Brain Science for insightful discussions and suggestions in improving the presentation of the NMC portal.

We are grateful to Prof. Alex Thomson for many years of collaboration, support, and discussions.